Skip to content ↓

Bishop Tufnell CE Infant School


Bishop Tufnell CE (Aided) Infant School and Bishop Tufnell CE (Aided) Junior School federated on Friday 1st September 2017, creating a single governing body.  Our governors are all volunteers and they all represent an area of the school community.  We have 7 Foundation Governors, who are representatives of either St Mary's Church, Felpham, St Nicholas' Church, Middleton-on-Sea or the Diocese; 2 Parent Governors, who have been elected by parents of the school; 1 Local Authority Governor, 1 Staff Governor, who is elected by staff at the school and our Executive Headteacher.

The Governing Body works in close partnership with the Executive Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team and plays a largely strategic role in the running of the school.  It helps to set the aims and objectives of the school; adopting policies; and setting targets.

Details of the powers and duties of governors are given in the Department for Education publication, "A Guide to the Law for School Governors" - this document can be viewed on the DfE website.

Our Governors are:

Mrs Jo Naylor - Chair of Governors

Mrs Joan Thomas - Foundation Governor

Mrs Nelly Walsh - Foundation Governor

Rev. William Marston - Ex-Officio

Rev. John Challis - Ex-Officio

Mr David Lind - Local Authority Governor

Mrs Tanya Smith - Parent Governor

Ms Julie Fairbairn - Staff Governor

Mr Lawrence Caughlin - Headteacher

Mrs Julie Pelling - Foundation Governor

Mr Michael Jones - Foundation Governor

Mrs Rowena Cook - Associate Member

Mrs Joan Miles - Associate Member

Mrs Gill Renny - Observer

Mrs Helen Quiroga - Clerk to Governors


Governors can be contacted via email,